Carry On – Rainbow Rowell | 3.5 Stars

Book | Carry On

Genre(s)| Fantasy / Young Adult

Date of Publication| February 25th, 2016

My Rating| 3.5 Stars

Cover:

28356624.jpg

Review:

Book(s) – Carry On

Feels– All the Bazimon Feels.

Tears – None

-I received a free e-ARC of this book from Netgalley but this did not affect the review in any way-

Carry On was Read Now when I downloaded it off Netgalley and I jumped on the opportunity to read this highly recommended (to me by others) and beloved book.

I went into it expecting a book similar to Harry Potter, with roots that had been laid in Fangirl and I got exactly that. Somewhere along the way I also found out that this was meant to be a spoof? of Harry Potter, and I think to some extent it does.

Carry On is the story of a boy mage (magician) who is the Chosen One. Here’s the summary off Goodreads:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

I quite enjoyed this book, even though it took me about 25% to actually get into it and read it with appropriate enthusiasm. Simon and Penny were my favourite characters, especially because of their actions and their morals. Agatha on the other hand (Simon’s girlfriend) bugged me from the start. But I think that’s how she was written, to be the thorn so we’d fall more in love with Bazimon like we all inevitably did.

This book was mediocre, to be honest. And I didn’t really feel it deserved all the hype it got – but then again that was because Rowell’s books have always been in the spotlight. Don’t get me wrong, I read the book and I liked it, but I don’t think it was great or anything even remotely close. The big twist everyone told me to look out for? I called it out fairly early – and now I wonder how they didn’t – it seems like the most obvious thing. And that particular character gave me the creeps early on.

Also, was it only me or was the book a bit too long? I think it was being unnecessarily being dragged out over five hundred pages and I was ready to have it end at maybe 250 or 300. Some things were just not needed and bored me to death. Not the Bazimon, that was important for my heart.

About things I liked about the book- Bazimon action! – Baz and Simon were the cutest couple! And I loved everything about them, from their enmity to them falling in love and oh my god, someone hold my shipper heart. I gave the book an extra half star because of Baz, he was the best thing about the novel for me. Snarky hero, with a heart of gold, how could anyone not love him? And I’m so happy the author didn’t choose the easy way and make Simon and Penny end up together –Harmony was never my ship and it’s never going to be, not if it’s romantic. They’re best friends, brother and sister and just that. They’re family.

The book is basically what Harry Potter would be if the pairing was Harry-Draco with some other twisted stuff. I’m all for Dramione when it makes sense like Bazimon, hallelujah!

Pick this up for a light read, with some lovely romance bits with queer characters and WOC and some quick and witty banter. My review is nothing but Bazimon shipping, and that’s all you can expect from a girl who thrives on fangirling.

Until next time,

Nia Carnelio.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

