Mini Book & Film Reviews – The Martian | Fight Club

Hi guys, I’m back from a mini-hiatus, I’ve been battling a writer’s block coupled with bouts of laziness and the realization that regular blogging is really hard work. I’m working on it, I swear. I’ve got a couple mini-reviews (book and film) for you today:

Book | The Martian

Genre(s)| Science Fiction / Humour

Date of Publication| February 11th, 2014

My Rating| 4 Stars

Cover:

18007564.jpg

Review: [Edited from my immediate GR review.]

Well, this is quite a book. I mean, it’s pulling fiction to the ends but I still immensely enjoyed reading it. Mark Watney is an amusing protagonist and he mercifully takes the time to walk us through all the sciencey-spacey stuff he does. I mean, a good lot still flies over my head but I had fun reading it. It’s not the most action packed novel, but it has enough suspense and twists to keep you hooked. The book was kinda unputdownable like that. Is that even a word? Probably not. This book had me laughing out loud at several points and I really liked the plot as well, because there was always something happening to keep me interested. Took me a few to get into it, but then I blew through it.

This book was part of my buddy read with Christina back in January. And I sped past while she took her time. We both read the books on Salonie (a mutual good friend)’s recommendation and god, it was SO WORTH IT.

For like a lot of the book I wondered if we were going to be introduced to aliens or Martians or whatever, didn’t happen but can you blame me? I’m a Whovian through and through.

Film Review – The Martian

I watched the film a couple days later and here’s what I thought:

I really liked the adaptation. They did cut some chunks but I guess that’s to be expected when you want to compress an entire novel into a couple hours. And that happy ending at the end was cute, I mean I didn’t need it, but I know that’s standard Hollywood formula for a good film. All in all, from the shit-crop-growing to the touching-interspace-hugs, I loved the film.

3.5 Stars for the movie, even though Matt Damon made a good Watney, he just didn’t have that sense of gallows humour going for him (I think my imagination was better there.) And for some reason, I didn’t even realize that was Damon until I checked IMDB for the same.

My advice: Read the book, and then watch the film. It’s a good experience.

* * *

Book | Fight Club

Genre(s)| Thriller / Classic / Mystery

Date of Publication| October 17th, 2005 [The edition I read.]

My Rating| 5 Stars

Cover:

5759

Review: [Edited from my immediate GR review.]

I read this as part of my Literature assignment (we had to pick two American Lit novels and analyse them) and as it happens, Christina also picked the same book for one of her books. This book is one of the few I’ve actually loved reading for my Lit course. And now, for my review after finishing the book:

OH MY GOD. THIS BOOK.

Until 60%, this was a strong 3.5 Stars, and then shit hit the fan with the plot twist I did not see coming at all. And then things happened, and now I want to re-read the book again. I’m downloading the film and I can’t wait to watch it this evening.

What a great book. I have so much to write about for my paper. This book. Everyone needs to read it once.

FIVE STRONG STARS AND A B FOR THE MASSIVE BOOK HANGOVER I’M GONNA BE FACING. FUCK.

“The first rule about Fight Club is that you don’t talk about Fight Club.”

Film Review: Fight Club

SPOILERS PAST THIS POINT:
The movie is pretty good, I like how they stuck to the major parts, although what was up with Brad Pitt dressing so flashily? Anyway, I went to check out some trivia and on the wiki page I found out that the narrator isn’t dead, but actually in a mental hospital. I’m quite the idiot to think it actually WAS heaven. I also had to go read up on why he was still standing when he’d shot himself in the head – only the cheek, as it turns out. Other than that, I think the casting for The Narrator and Marla was spot on. Jared Leto as Angelface was pretty cute too. I liked Bob as well, I relived his death. Sigh.

The book is better (as it often is) but yes, this is a movie one needs to watch.

“The second rule about fight club, is that you do not talk about fight club.” 

I immensely enjoyed reading and watching Fight Club, the twists really screwed with my head. I really liked analysing the book against the backdrop of the American Dream and oh my god, I learned so much. I am also wary of eating in restaurants now, so there’s that too.

Until next time,

Nia Carnelio.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Book & Film Reviews – The Martian | Fight Club

  1. HopefulReads says:

    The Martian was such a joyous surprise of a book. I picked it up on a whim before the movie came out and loved it so much! It was just so freaking funny. I did enjoy the film but definitely thought the book was better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

