BEST BOOKS OF 2015

Hey guys,

This is going to be a really quick post since I should be completing some very important chores. I’m dropping by to post of my best reads of 2015. Last year, i.e. 2014, I barely read eighteen books and that’s counting the stuff I had to read for my college literature exams and prep. This year, I set the books to be read goal at 50 but then increased it to 65 to have a healthy competition with Salonie who blogs at Whoa! (It’s only healthy now that I’ve won it).

So, in no particular order here are the best reads of 2015 (if I’ve reviewed them, I’ll add a link to the review so you can check them out).

  • Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This book has changed my life. And I’m not even exaggerating. For some reason, after reading an ARC of this book I finally realized that I like YA more than I’ve ever like classic literature. Simon’s story was fresh and I really did love it.

  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

WHAT A BOOK. This one simply blew my mind. Everyone should read this. EVERYONE.

  • Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

The amazing end to The Infernal Devices trilogy and my favourite Cassandra Clare book. I don’t even remember the events of The Mortal Instruments anymore.

  • These Broken Stars (& Their Fractured Light) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

My first foray into YA Science Fiction and I loved this trilogy. TBS will always be my favourite book, but TFL did a bloody good job too. But nobody beats Tarver.

  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Finished this a couple days ago and I’m still overwhelmed with all the Sean-Puck-Horses feels. And I’ve never even ridden a horse.

  • The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Favourite Romance New Adult of the year. I must’ve read this one several times over the years.

  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Listen, any Maggie Stiefvater book is simply perfection. Period.

  • Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A wonderfully diverse read with a beautiful, lyrical prose and a set of characters I adored.

  • Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Another mental health awareness book I read and enjoyed this year. We need more of these.

  • Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

JV is one of those books, that kinda stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page and you still can’t fathom how a book can make you feel such things.

Honorable mentions:

The Mistake (Elle Kennedy), The Duff (Kody Keplinger), Everything Everything (Nicola Yoon), Clockwork Prince (Cassandra Clare) and Made You Up (Francesca Zappia).

See you guys in 2016.

Until next time,

Nia Carnelio.

 

8 thoughts on “BEST BOOKS OF 2015

  1. Zoe says:

    YES. So many fabulous choices here Nia! These Broken Stars is one of my favorite books too, so I am so glad to see it on your list. 🙂 And Ready Player One and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda are amazing too. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤ Here's to a great 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shannonmiz says:

    Ohh this looks like my TBR! Or like, all the books I didn’t get to this year but wanted to! I take this to be very good news, because perhaps that means that I will love them too! I MUST read TBS, Dream Thieves, and The Summer of Chasing Mermaids ASAP. OH and The Scorpio Races. And Simon. See, I need them all! I mean, I HAVE them, I just umm haven’t read them 😉

    Everything, Everything and Made You Up made my list though (so I have faith that we have similar tastes, since the books I DID read you also loved 😀 ) Hope you have a fabulous 2016 reading year too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Perceptive Madness says:

      Haha, yes! You must, Simon Vs practically hit me and changed my life. These are excellent books, I’m making my way over to check out your books (although I’ve probably read the post since I get it through email). Thank you so much for stopping by! 😀

      Like

  3. elimadison2019 says:

    Ready Player One is one of my favorite books as well! And the Infernal Devices is my favorite of Cassie Clare’s books. I think it’s so much more concise and well laid-out. I was really conflicted about Clockwork Princess, but for the most part, I really enjoyed it. And, of course, Maggie Stiefvater.

    Oh, Maggie Stiefvater.

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

