Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon | 4 Stars

Book| Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Genre(s)| Young Adult / Contemporary / Realistic Fiction

Date of Publication|1st September, 2015

My Rating | 3.8 STARS [ROUNDED TO 4 STARS]

Cover:

18692431

REVIEW:

Books, Feels & Tears TM

EVERYTHING EVERYTHING BY NICOLA YOON

Spoiler Alert: You’re gonna love this book to death.

There are some books you just don’t know how to review. For me Everything Everything is one of them. It’s a cute book, yeah, but how much did it make me feel things?

The book tells the story of Madeline, an 18 year old who has a disease called SCID, something that makes her allergic to the outside world. So she stays in her sterile bubble of protection. But then comes along Olly, and that is when she falls in love.

So that’s the gist, very cute, very cliché. Took me about five days to read the book simply because of my on-going exams but it is a very small book (about 320 pages or so) and it is written in the form of emails, notes, IMs, little illustrations all of which made reading the book so much fun. I loved the novel way the book was written, points for that.

The USP of the book in my humble opinion is not the plot, or the characters or even the way it was written, it’s how much love Nicola Yoon has put into the book. Every page seems loved, cherished and it makes it so much more fun to read. I love the plot too, don’t get me wrong, but while I didn’t know SCID existed before this book, I still don’t know much about it. And the romance was awfully cute, but a tiny bit abrupt too and most of the times other than her eagerness and impatience to experience the outside world, I never did understand Maddie’s motivations.

The characters in the novel are brilliantly diverse (Maddie is half Japanese, half African American – taken from Nicola’s own daughter – SO CUTE) including a Latina nurse who is a lovely person and one of my faves from the novel. Olly is a refreshing young male, although I do not know how real he is. I did like his character development and his unique characteristics throughout and another thing that made me very happy – Maddie is a book blogger. And her reviews are so freaking cool. They’re written the way I started the review, which is another reason why you should pick this gem of a book ASAP.

Onto the part that everyone has spoken about at length in their reviews, the plot twist that attacks you somewhere during the gradual ending of the novel. Unfortunately, I guessed it around 68% (Would be wise NOT to look at my Goodreads status speculations.) I also did find the ending a bit too tied together for real life, unreal stuff like that almost never happens and if it does, there are consequences.

So I rated this book a cute 3.8, but the thing is that I liked it too much to give it a 3-tag rating and review and so I’ve rounded this up to four. And I’ve given it a C for the cute novel that it is. Overall, it’s a brilliantly conceived novel, with some great characters and I’ve heard people actually don’t see the plot twist coming (I’m the anomaly then) so I urge you, if you’re a fan of Contemporary, realistic fiction in the young adult genre to pick this one up.

SO CUTE THIS BOOK WAS

SO CUTE THIS BOOK WAS

Also, for those who have read the book and haven’t figured out the two Everythings on the cover – one is for the Everything she had during her SCID row time and the next one, with flowers and plants and colour and all, is supposed to represent her life’s change after Olly’s arrival and their subsequent consequences.

Book(s) – Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Feels – Some, some very cutesy feels.

Tears  – None.

I was provided a free galley of this book from NetGalley which did not affect my review in any way.

Until next time,

Nia Carnelio.

Leave a Reply

