Dan Howell, Reading And Raga

Work is on in full force down at Malhar HQ [which is basically my college campus] and I haven’t gotten much time to write, read, watch many things since April ended. I’ve read a couple books or so, watched some episodes of the third season of Game of Thrones, but the travelling and the brain work being done in college is exhausting and I’m too tired to do much at home.

Today’s blog post is dedicated to Dan Howell, aka, Danisnotonfire on YouTube. One of my favorite YouTubers of all time, I think he is also the very first one I watched. I don’t remember though, it was a long time ago and I’ve watched so many videos that they’ve started blurring into one another now.

But here’s the thing about Dan’s videos – they have stuff. Let me explain. So all the YouTubers I know and subscribe to funny and make interestingly hilarious videos. But Dan’s videos, while fucking funny, also have an important point, message or information about them that makes it intriguing. In short, every time you watch a danisnotonfire video, you learn.

LISTEN TO DAN.

LISTEN TO DAN.

For instance, I particularly love his ‘Danecdotes’ and those videos where he tells us why he is a fail at life and encourages us to talk about our quirks and feel better about ourselves after we watch his videos. He researches stuff and painstakingly puts in effort to make his videos as accurate and informative as possible it is for a comedian / funny YouTuber to do.

Ever the composed.

Ever the composed.

If you don’t believe me, check out his A Tour of Dan’s Brain video where he literally walks us through his mind and he’s taken the efforts to put the correct feeling or function in the right place. He didn’t have to do that, people on YouTube aren’t going to google which part of the brain does what and all that rubbish, but he did. Which is kinda awesome, because watching videos on YouTube wastes your time when you should be doing productive stuff, but Dan’s videos are like a two-in-one thing.

His videos help you connect with him, even though he is miles away and will probably never know you. But you know that he is going through similar things and that gives you hope. Fandom Rehab, Fictional Friends, Tumblr Tag are some of his videos where I related to him as a fangirl. And since his videos are more fact than fantasy, even if you can’t relate, you learn which is an amazing feat for a YouTuber.

I also adore his friendship with his best friend Phil [Amazing Phil] who is amazing and awesome in his own regard and deserves a blog post of his own. But their friendship is what I aspire to have, that amount of closeness and fun and love between the two is what makes my friendshipped heart sing.

Look how cute they are.

Look how cute they are.

I look up to him, to his pessimistic-optimistic and cynical view of life, his sarcasm and his ironic appreciation of things give me hope and make me laugh out loud and I love him for doing that. Four for you Dan Howell, you go Dan Howell.

In other news, I’ve uploaded and updated my review for Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher’s Never Never this morning and am currently reading my ARC copy of The Mistake by Elle Kennedy. Which seems lovely so far. Review should be up tomorrow or day after, because I have editing deadlines tomorrow to be met.

Hope you’re having a good day, if you aren’t watch a danisnotonfire video and maybe it’ll cheer you up – I’ve used this trick to succession many times.

I LOVE HIM SO FUCKING MUCH.

I LOVE HIM SO FUCKING MUCH.

Until tomorrow,

Nia Carnelio.

[P.S – Watch Psycho Thoughts, one of my favorite videos where he talks about the ‘L’Appel Du Vide’. Google it.]

Leave a Reply

