Book Review: Never Never, Colleen Hoover & Tarryn Fisher

This blog post will be edited as soon as I have finished the novel and have written the review which shouldn’t be too long after. I cannot write anything else today as this blog post has caught me running between Raga editing, learning InDesign and Photoshop, both of which I need to master proficiency in by the 10th May. –

-EDITED-

Never, Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Never Never

Never Never

Rating: Four Stars / Five Stars

Blurb: 

Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen.
Complete strangers since this morning.
He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

Review:

So I heard of this book some time back, when it was making waves in the lists of Romance, Contemporary and Young Adult books of 2015. I managed to get a free copy off Amazon this morning before I left for college. [I think it’s still free, go check it out]. The book came out on January 7th, 2015 and is part of a series of three novellas. The second book, Never Stop comes out this May 17th and is already open for pre-order.

The book is good, in terms of the plot. A lack of memories, a stunning cliffhanger and more by the two writers keeps you turning the pages of this novella. It’s been ages since a book made me stop and wonder and think as to what is happening and this book manages to do just that, and does it quite brilliantly. We don’t know which genres the book fits into – mystery, paranormal, thriller or what not.

But there’s errors too in this novella. Typos, imperfect English etc, something else I’d also found in Colleen Hoover’s Hopeless when I’d read it. The novella could have been so much better if someone with an eagle eye and a good command over the language had picked out these tiny grammatical errors that grind on a grammar nazi’s nerves.

The characters have been fleshed out well. You love Silas Nash right from the start, and you don’t with Charlie Wynwood, loving her is Silas’s job. I particularly found Silas’s chapters written better than Charlie or that’s because I’ve developed a soft spot for him.

The book is quite the page turner and if you read it, you probably won’t regret it. There’s a reason Buzzfeed Books rated it one of the most highly anticipated and talked about romance novel of 2015. The other being, The Deal, which is reviewed yesterday.

It’s a decently written book with a good plot and an even better cliffhanger.

I finished writing this review at two in the night before my laptop decided to take a little beating and shutdown without saving my review completely. Sigh. The perils of using electronics and depending too much upon them.

Until tomorrow, Nia Carnelio.

Leave a Reply

