Wanderlust & Travel: Fridays With Friends – Arundhati Kamat

Aloha! It’s time for another blog post on Fridays – Fridays With Friends.

whitebackground1920x1200

Today one of my best friends, Arundhati Kamat has written a piece for Fridays with Friends. Arundhati is a lover of books, Eragon, FRIENDS, Sarabhai vs. Sarabhai and Sudha Murty novels. Arundhati blogs on tumblr and writes there occasionally. She is kindhearted and is an excellent dancer. But her most interesting feature is how she manages to trip over everything and nothing and constantly keeps falling down. But we find that endearing, so it’s alright. Without much ado, her post.

I have a diary at home. The last page has a list of cities and tourist spots that I want to visit at some point in my life. And I keep adding new places every time I open it.

I’ve not completed even a half of the original list that I wrote seven years ago when I started compiling it.

Combining two of my favorite things - LOTR and travel.

Combining two of my favorite things – LOTR and travel.

True, I’ve travelled a lot and to many places in India, so technically, I have absolutely nothing to crib about. But I have this yearning to see the world, to capture its beauty in a fist sized device called the camera, and to feel the independence and awe that comes naturally when travelling – It never wears off.

Love.

Love.

I love travelling, even if it is to Pune, a mere 3 hour journey on a concrete expressway and upcoming residential projects as the scenery. Visiting new places, hearing and learning new languages, travelling new roads, hopping into a train or onto a bus, meeting different types of people, getting a glimpse of their lives and problems, shopping- all of these have a charm that none of us can resist.

One of my most unique trips was when I visited Kolkata. It was a stop on the way back from a trip to Sikkim and we had a whole day before we resumed our return journey. My father, being well versed with the city, took my uncle, cousin, brother and me on a ‘transport mode‘ trip while my aunt and mum shopped, (no surprises there!). We travelled in a tram, auto rickshaw, cycle rickshaw, metro, bus, the Kolkata wali yellow taxi and ferry. And to recharge ourselves, we had mishti doi [a Bengali sweet]. Some of the best spent hours of my life.

And now that I’ve blabbered so much about travelling and independence and the novelty and joy of meeting new people and seeing new places, there’s just one thing I’d like to say-

There’s no other feeling like coming back home.

There's no place like home. - Dorothy.

There’s no place like home. – Dorothy.

-AK.

Here, listen to one of my favorite songs ‘Home‘ as you leave my blog and reminisce about your travels and either miss or value your home.

“Home, let me come home. Home is wherever I’m with you.”

Until tomorrow,

Nia Carnelio.

[P.S – One of the reasons I love the song and the glee version of it is because they used it when Cam and Mitch finally got married in Modern Family. Tears of joy.]

4 thoughts on “Wanderlust & Travel: Fridays With Friends – Arundhati Kamat

  1. Moritz says:

    Very true words. I love traveling as well, but I always love the feeling of coming home again and being welcomed by friends and families. That’s just a very special feeling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

